top of page

Parish Finance Committee

Introduction and Background

In accordance with the provisions of the Canon Law under Canon 537, there shall be a Finance Committee known as the PARISH FINANCE COMMITTEE (PFC) in every parish of the Archdiocese of Johannesburg, to help the Parish Priest, or his authorized delegate, in the administration of the temporal goods of the parish.


Vision and Mission

The mission of the Parish Finance Council of Our Lady of Lourdes is to support the Parish Priest and Parish Pastoral Council (PPC) in their stewardship of parish financial resources; with due care in support and safeguarding of the spiritual activities of the entire parish towards financial sustainability. The PFC is also accountable to the Parish community.


The above mission will be achieved through:

  • Adequate budgeting and reporting of financial resources

  • Fundraising for the needs of the parish

  • Ensuring appropriate controls and accountability over the parish finances



The functions of the PFC at a high level are:

  • Financial reporting to Archdiocese, Parish Pastoral Council and Parish Community

  • Strategic planning , creation and management of the parish budget

  • Preparing and communicating Parish financial revenue projections

  • Budget review

  • Safeguarding parish assets

  • Payment of Parish staff salaries and creditors

  • Ensuring a profit margin through supporting fundraising activities and controlling misuse of funds

  • Emergency funding as required 

  • Responsible stewardship



The members of Our Lady of Lourdes PFC were elected into office on, 28th August 2022 through a voting process by Parishioners.

The committee comprises of 8 voting members plus the Parish Priest who presides over this committee as the President.

Father Paul Beukes OMI - President 

Thuli Malinga - PFC Chairperson

Steven De Jesus- Deputy Chairperson

Refilwe Nkabinde - Secretary 

Jonathan Libera - Committee Member 

Dr. Leslie Jacobs - Committee Member

Disebo Moephuli - Committee Member 

Tshidi Mokgabudi - Committee Member

bottom of page