top of page

Sacramental Life

Everyone will receive blessings throughout their life, but the Sacraments hold a special place in every Catholic's heart. We host preparation classes and Holy Mass for all the Sacraments. These include Marriages, Confession, Communion and much more. We encourage you to make sure that you have signed up for your relevant preparation course so you can connect with people in your community that are on the same spiritual journey as you. This way you can have the most meaningful and spiritual experience when you receive your Sacrament. 
Please contact the Parish office: (011) 803 1229 for more information.


Our Catholic Church is a sacramental community because the Holy Spirit is with us. The Holy Spirit gives us gifts through the Sacraments. These gifts help us grow in faith and love. Through the Church we could receive many sacraments some only once some many times over.

The sacraments are divided into three groups:

  1. Sacraments of Initiation or Welcoming
    Baptism, Holy Communion and Confirmation

  2. Sacraments of Healing
    Reconciliation and Anointing of the Sick

  3. Sacraments of Vocation and Service
    Marriage and Holy Orders


Baptism is a Sacrament of Initiation and Welcoming. We welcome babies into the Christian family and into the Catholic Church. Parents of young children under the age of seven years, need to attend baptism preparation classes. Adults and children ages seven and above are welcome to receive this Sacrament after attending RCIA classes (Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults) or Catechism classes. 


Confession / Reconciliation and Penance

The Sacrament of Reconciliation is a sacrament of healing. As our Creator and Father, God fully knows our human needs. He knows that we get hurt and that we make mistakes. He knows that when we sin, it affects our souls, our bodies, our emotions, our relationships. Because of this, He wants to give us His merciful love, and He wants us to personally hear His words of forgiveness being spoken to us through the priest. Not just once, but frequently. - (CatholicMom Holy Family Ministries) 

Confession is available every Saturday from 10h00 to 11h00


Anointing of the Sick 

The Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick is a Sacrament of the Catholic Church which celebrates our faith in the healing touch of Christ in our lives. Does healing always take place? In the Sacrament, we pray that the sick person be healed in body, soul and spirit. The Sacrament offers forgiveness and healing. Please contact the Parish office should you require the Sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick or request for Holy Communion for  hospitalized and housebound parishioners. 


Holy Eucharist 

The Holy Eucharist is the most important of the seven sacraments because, in this and in no other sacrament, we receive the very body and blood, soul and divinity of Jesus Christ. Innumerable, precious graces come to us through the reception of Holy Communion. Holy Communion is an intimate encounter with Christ, in which we sacramentally receive Christ into our bodies, that we may be more completely assimilated into his. “The Eucharist builds the Church,” as Pope John Paul II said (Redemptor Hominis 20). It deepens unity with the Church, more fully assimilating us into Christ (1 Cor. 12:13; CCC 1396).

Children and adults are prepared for First Holy Communion through Catechism and RCIA Classes. 



Confirmation candidates also need to attend special religious classes such as Catechism or RCIA for adults, where they learn about the sacrament, the Catholic faith, and their responsibilities as Christian adults. They may also participate in different activities, such as food drives, mission trips, and volunteering time to help others, in order to prepare for the sacrament. Before receiving the sacrament of confirmation, the person must first be baptized. After confirmation, a confirmand is expected to continue strengthening his or her faith. A confirmand is also expected to take on a more mature role in the church.



The Sacrament of Marriage is a lasting commitment of a man and a woman to a lifelong partnership, established for the good of each other and the procreation of their children. Marriage is different to most of the Sacraments which are conferred by a priest, or bishop.  To receive this Sacrament the couple need to attend a marriage preparation course. For more details of this preparation course please contact the Parish Office.  

The Ring

Holy Orders

Holy Orders is the sacrament by which bishops, priests and deacons are ordained and receive the power and grace to perform their sacred duties. The sacred rite by which orders are conferred is called ordination. The apostles were ordained by Jesus at the Last Supper so that others could share in his priesthood.

Giving Holy Communion
bottom of page